The Policy Space

An Australian blog for all things politics and policy

Tuesday 27 September 2016
The Next American President and the Prospects for the Rise of an Anti-Globalisation Regime
Brendan McCaffrie
Tuesday 20 September 2016
What makes participatory processes democratic? From external to internal inclusion
Tuesday 9 August 2016
The Decline of Policy Mandates
Ross Stitt
Wednesday 27 July 2016
What animal could a democracy be? Ape, fox, lion...how about jellyfish?
Jean-Paul Gagnon
Tuesday 19 July 2016
Health Policy in Australia- now, then, and forever?
Friday 15 July 2016
Brexit: Over and out
Thursday 14 July 2016
How the new Senate voting system works
Dugald Monro
Friday 1 July 2016
Will an incoming government boost Australia's climate aid?
Jonathan Pickering & Paul Mitchell
Thursday 30 June 2016
How did it come to a Brexit? Anti-politics and UKIP's effects on the EU referendum
Tuesday 28 June 2016
Epitaph for a political chancer: Cameron's fate exemplifies the inability of UK elites to resolve long-run crises
Patrick Dunleavy
Tuesday 21 June 2016
Making 'Better Regulation'
Thursday 16 June 2016
How to improve research training in Australia - give industry placements to PhD students
Tuesday 14 June 2016
Obama's Middle Eastern policy - a recipe for success or disaster...?!
Friday 10 June 2016
From Abbott to Turnbull: A New Direction?
Tuesday 7 June 2016
Many young people aren't enrolled to vote - but are we asking them the wrong question?
Philippa Collin & Lucas Walsh
Wednesday 25 May 2016
Leaders' Debate: Round 1
Michael J. Jensen
Wednesday 25 May 2016
Why are new Australians our greatest champions of democratic values?
Mark Evans & Max Halupka
Wednesday 25 May 2016
Enough is enough! Why Grey Australians no longer trust their politicians
Mark Evans, Max Halupka & Gerry Stoker
Wednesday 25 May 2016
Advance Australia Fair? Not for Indigenous Australian Citizens
Mark Evans & Max Halupka
Tuesday 24 May 2016
Are box-ticking, scorecards and listing really a foundation for good environmental policy?
Peter Bridgewater
Tuesday 17 May 2016
Bridging the Gap: why deliberative democracy needs theorists and practitioners to work together
Lucy J Parry & Wendy Russell
Thursday 12 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET ANALYSIS 2016: An Enterprise Budget in Times of Mistrust
Mark Evans & Jinjing Li
Tuesday 10 May 2016
Not the only small island territory with aspirations for self-government!
Roger Wettenhall
Saturday 7 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET: reflections on the 2016/17 federal budget
Saul Eslake
Saturday 7 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: The Political Budget
Geoff Kitney
Wednesday 4 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: What did the Treasurer say? (post 2016 budget)
Michael J. Jensen & Jinjing Li
Tuesday 3 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: The Budget Getting Nowhere Fast
Tim Colebatch
Monday 2 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: What did the Treasurer say?
Michael J. Jensen & Jinjing Li
Monday 2 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: Tax Scales - how can we improve the structure of Australia's personal income tax system?
Saul Eslake
Sunday 1 May 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: Who do you trust to run the country?
Mark Evans, Max Halupka & Gerry Stoker
Friday 29 April 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: towards digital-era governance?
Patrick Dunleavy & Mark Evans
Friday 29 April 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: STINMOD+ Incomes
Geoff Kitney
Thursday 28 April 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: Budget Politics
Geoff Kitney
Thursday 28 April 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: The budget that launches an election
Michelle Grattan
Thursday 28 April 2016
NATSEM BUDGET 2016: Will Budget 2016 deliver a new deal for Australian cities?
Gerry Stoker & Mark Evans
Tuesday 19 April 2016
Barriers and Motivations for Postgraduates to Pursue a Career in Australian Political Science
Lyndal Hasselman
Tuesday 5 April 2016
Income Taxation, Schools, Hospitals and Federalism
Dugald Monro
Friday 1 April 2016
Reforming the Labor Party
Frank Bongiorno
Tuesday 29 March 2016
Is the time for playing games over, or has it just begun? Turnbull's double dissolution election is a risky strategy.
Brendan McCaffrie
Thursday 24 March 2016
The proposed Senate voting change will hurt Australian democracy
John Dryzek
Tuesday 22 March 2016
Why the sharing economy could have a hard landing in Australia
Phil Lewis
Thursday 17 March 2016
Attacking the roots of inequality: a sharing economy and how to achieve it
Stewart Lansley
Tuesday 8 March 2016
The Australian greens: from activism to Australia's third party
Stuart Jackson
Friday 4 March 2016
What can we learn from internal migration in Indonesia?
Yogi Vidyattama
Tuesday 1 March 2016
Turkey's other 'Gezi' moment
Ali Bilgic
Thursday 25 February 2016
The Red Elephants- a look at India's communist guerilla group
Helen Sellers
Tuesday 23 February 2016
How stable is the Liberal party?
Ross Stitt
Thursday 18 February 2016
New forms of political participation: what's new, if anything?
David Marsh & Sadiya Akram
Tuesday 16 February 2016
Tories and Labour clearly opposed on UK membership in the EU, but this pales in comparison to intraparty tensions on the issue
Philip Cowley & Tim Bale
Thursday 11 February 2016
Using 'managerial' approaches in universities is consistent with maintaining academic freedom
Giulio Marini & Emanuela Reale
Tuesday 9 February 2016
Governance (is) for the birds.
Peter Bridgewater
Thursday 4 February 2016
How to explain the intensity of contemporary discontent with politics
Gerry Stoker
Tuesday 2 February 2016
How to write a blogpost from your journal article in eleven easy steps.
Patrick Dunleavy
Thursday 28 January 2016
Fire and ashes: success and failure in politics
Matthew Flinders
Monday 25 January 2016
Punk Political Science - Worldmaking, Worldbreaking and Living on the Edge
Ferdia Stone-Davis
Wednesday 20 January 2016
Non-human Democracy: our political vocabulary has no room for animals
Jean-Paul Gagnon
Tuesday 19 January 2016
Malcolm in the Middle: The Rise of an Anti-Politician?
Charlie Shandil
Wednesday 16 December 2015
A Lesson in Democracy...from Slime Moulds
Jean-Paul Gagnon
Friday 11 December 2015
Social Media and Political Campaigning: A Look at the 2015 UK General Election Campaign
Michael J. Jensen
Tuesday 8 December 2015
Being Trained by Twitter Stats: Social Media and the Expanding Ways we are Measured in Everyday Life
David Beer
Thursday 3 December 2015
Climate Power to the People? Bottom-up Energy Policy and Community Renewables
Julie MacArthur
Monday 30 November 2015
Climate Finance at the Paris Summit: Sharing the Global Effort More Fairly
Jonathan Pickering & Frank Jotzo
Thursday 26 November 2015
Reshaping the Politics of Contemporary Democracies: Cosmopolitan versus Shrinking Dynamics
Gerry Stoker & Will Jennings
Tuesday 24 November 2015
Shorten's Plan to Lower the Voting Age Could Help Increase Political Engagement
Jean-Paul Gagnon, Mark Chou & Catherine Hartung
Wednesday 18 November 2015
Don't Rush In, Think About the Bigger Picture
Denis Dragovic
Tuesday 17 November 2015
Trust In Thy Leader: Is 'Washminster' Apt for the Australian Public Service?
Charlie Shandil
Friday 13 November 2015
Is Commissioning the Answer to Public Service Reform?
Helen Dickinson
Wednesday 11 November 2015
Doctor? Please help me! I've watched House of Cards and I think I'm sick! I have ...cynicism!
Alexandra Manoliu
Tuesday 10 November 2015
TPP revealed: at last we have the details - and a democratic deficit to be fixed
Jean-Paul Gagnon
Thursday 5 November 2015
The Ethics of the Arms Trade
James Christensen
Wednesday 4 November 2015
Negativity Towards Politics: a By-Product of a Failure in Moral Accounting?
Gerry Stoker
Friday 30 October 2015
Britain's In-Out Referendum: What's Really Going On?
Thursday 29 October 2015
Enterprise Contracts Detract from Productivity Commission Mission to Improve Fair Work
Kurt Walpole
Wednesday 28 October 2015
Taking the 'High Road'
Edmund C. Stazyk
Tuesday 27 October 2015
"We're not going to do it like Victoria"- Policy Learning from Other Places when Things Don't Go to Plan
Heather Lovell
Thursday 22 October 2015
Destined for Democracy? Labour Markets and Political Change in Colonial British America
Elena Nikolova
Tuesday 20 October 2015
Reviewing Queensland's Emergency Management Operations- Relationships Matter.
Tracey Arklay
Monday 19 October 2015
Why the TPP is such a Big Deal
Andrew Mitchell
Friday 16 October 2015
American Foreign Policy with Hillary at the Helm
Jana von Stein
Wednesday 14 October 2015
Governance by Metrics
Jenny M Lewis
Tuesday 13 October 2015
Time to Reflect on the Nature of the EU in the Light of the Greek Crisis?
Jeremy Richardson
Friday 9 October 2015
Understanding Public Hybrids
Jean-Louis Denis , Ewan Ferlie & Nicolette van Gestel
Wednesday 7 October 2015
Deliberative Democracy: an Opportunity for Consumer Engagement in the Energy Sector
Ian Holland & Karen Wright
Tuesday 6 October 2015
Why No One is God When it Comes to Making Policy: the Hidden Maturity of Ministerial Views on Public Input
Jennifer Lees-Marshment
Thursday 1 October 2015
The Mainstreaming of Euroscepticism in Times of Crisis
Nathalie Brack & Nicholas Startin
Wednesday 30 September 2015
The Importance of Continuous Sense Making in Crisis Management: The Case of the Euro Crisis
Femke van Esch & Marij Swinkels
Friday 25 September 2015
Five Ways to Reform State Taxes
John Freebairn & Miranda Stewart
Friday 25 September 2015
China-led Development Policy in Asia
Jason Young
Wednesday 23 September 2015
Policy Analysis in Australia- Complexities, Arenas and Challenges
Kate Crowley & Brian Head
Tuesday 22 September 2015
The Future of Aged Care in Australia: A Call for Evidence Based Policy
Richard Baldwin
Tuesday 15 September 2015
Why the International Criminal Court is Going OK.
Matt Killingsworth
Monday 14 September 2015
How Do Australians Think About Political Finance? As 'Partisans' or as 'Skeptics'?
Zim Nwokora
Wednesday 16 September 2015
What Can Ontario Midwives Tell Us About Policy Processes?
Patrik Marier, Stephanie Paterson & Mariel Angus
Thursday 3 September 2015
Governance, Social Licence and the Rise of Environmental NGOs in Australia
Hannah Murphy-Gregory
Friday 11 September 2015
Humanitarian Paradigm Shift on Nuclear Weapons Policy or Hot Air?
Jenny Nielsen
Tuesday 8 September 2015
Evidence-Based Policy Making: Official Policy Perspectives on Creating and Sustaining Effective Links Between Academic and Policy Worlds
Jenny van der Arend
Tuesday 1 September 2015
Ideas, Institutions, and Tax Policy in the US and the UK
Alex Waddan & Daniel Beland
Monday 24 August 2015
To Punish and to Reward
Lauri Rapeli
Monday 24 August 2015
The Watchdogs of 'Washminster' - Parliamentary Scrutiny of Ministerial Appointments in the UK
Felicity Matthews
Thursday 20 August 2015
Sausages and Shortcuts: How Australians Decide their Vote
Jill Sheppard
Wednesday 19 August 2015
What Can the Social Inclusion Agenda Tell Us About Creating Joined Up Government?
Gemma Carey
Tuesday 18 August 2015
Opening Up Local Government Spending in the UK: It's Complicated
Benjamin Worthy
Thursday 13 August 2015
New UN Rules put the Spotlight on Climate Laggards to Lift their Game
Jonathan Pickering
Tuesday 11 August 2015
Citizenship Policies and Politics in European Union Member States
Djordje Sredanovic
Tuesday 4 August 2015
To Call or Not to Call an Early Election
Pedro Riera
Friday 31 July 2015
From Sovereignty in Australia to Australian Sovereignty
Raia Prokhovnik
Thursday 30 July 2015
Risky Business: Finding the Balance Between Financial Stability and Risk
Jon Danielsson & Jean-Pierre Zigrand
Tuesday 28 July 2015
No Grexit: Why Greece Stayed in the Eurozone
Remy Davison
Thursday 23 July 2015
Twitter Tyrants: The Surprising Ways Social Media is Helping Dictators
Seva Gunitsky
Tuesday 21 July 2015
New Experimental Evidence on Political Trust
Aaron Martin
Thursday 16 July 2015
Don't Knock Clickivism: It Represents the Political Participation Aspirations of the Modern Citizen
Max Halupka
Tuesday 14 July 2015
Australian Federal Budget Speeches, and Why You Should Care About Them
Annabelle Lukin
Monday 13 July 2015
Court Access is a Fundamental Civil Right: Keeping it in Reach of all Requires New Thinking
Stephen Parker
Thursday 9 July 2015
Face to Face(book): Social Media, Political Campaigning and the Unbearable Lightness of Being There
Karen Ross & Tobias Burger
Tuesday 7 July 2015
Migrants into Members: Social Rights, Civic Requirements, and Citizenship in Western Europe
Gregory C. Baldi & Sara Wallace Goodman
Thursday 2 July 2015
Australia's Twin Track Diplomacy
Mark Beeson
Thursday 2 July 2015
Misinformation and Democratic Politics
Jennifer L. Hochschild & Katherine Levine Einstein
Tuesday 30 June 2015
Seeing like a Citizen: Is Co-Design the Best Way to Support Vulnerable People?
Mark Evans
Thursday 25 June 2015
Long Constitutions are not Garrulous, they are Restrictive
George Tsebelis
Tuesday 23 June 2015
Will A Marriage Equality Ruling Cause Public Opinion Backlash?
Benjamin G. Bishin , Thomas J. Hayes , Matthew B. Incantalupo & Charles Anthony Smith
Wednesday 17 June 2015
The ADF Pay Deal: Politics Again Triumphs over Policy and Process
Sue Williamson & Michael O'Donnell
Tuesday 16 June 2015
NATSEM Modelling of Federal Budget Should not Surprise
Ben Phillips
Tuesday 16 June 2015
Evidence-Based Policy Making: What Westminster Policy Officers Say They Do and Why
Mark Evans
Friday 12 June 2015
The Deliberate Impotence of "Active Labour Market Policy": The UK Labour Market Continues to Deliver Quantity Rather than Quality
Craig Berry
Friday 12 June 2015
A Crisis of Democracy?
David Marsh
Friday 12 June 2015
Making Political Science Relevant
Gerry Stoker
Tuesday 2 June 2015
Cyber is Sexy, and Anonymous is the Belle of the Ball
Max Halupka
Tuesday 2 June 2015
Is a British Senate any Closer Now? Or will the House of Lords still go on and on?
Richard Reid & Patrick Dunleavy
Follow us
New today: The Next American President and Prospects for rise of an anti-globalisation regime by Brendan McCaffrie https://t.co/fMV0UOZ6aK
Today's blog by @Janealver looks at what makes participatory processes #democratic https://t.co/vXxyg8mkqi @UCIGPA
Today on the blog: The Decline of Policy Mandates by @ross_stitt https://t.co/wYqwkT6QfX. Thanks @POPpoliticsAus
Today: What animal could a #democracy be? Ape, fox, lion...how about jellyfish? by @JeanPaulRGagnon https://t.co/zSBqtCHZe8
New on the blog: Health Policy in Australia- now, then, and forever? by Chris Aulich and John Butcher https://t.co/YTfnAUpYlr